Skip to content

Where does the time go?

April 21, 2011

Almost two months since my last post and I am left wondering why in the space of nearly sixty days that I found nothing blogworthy to share.   Why the hiatus?    Focus on career projects,  some health issues in the extended family, and a dearth of inspired weekend projects have been the principal reasons why my blog has turned fallow, but I have to also consider the effects of other social channels.

While Facebook and Twitter lack persistence of content, I think they are extremely successful for two reasons.

1) The deliberately constrained short format makes it acceptable to share even the mundane.   No pressure to craft something particularly compelling or worthy.

2)  The viral nature of the network design increases the odds of interaction and response.  This positive feedback encourages continued participation.   Fundamental game theory.

I’m listening to these channels more, and participating randomly, most often either as a reaction to someone else.  I find myself doing things I would have held in disdain a year ago.  Recently,  I felt it somehow satisfying to tweet that I felt old after shopping for clothes at the mall.    While cathartic,  this may be indicative of the lack of focus that these forms of social media are creating, compared to longer forms of expression like a blog.

I need to regain my voice and direction.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2011 3:01 pm

    Glad to see that you are blogging again 🙂

    Vijay

  2. Lee permalink
    April 21, 2011 4:23 pm

    I’m in the same boat, but even worse — it’s been months since I wrote substantive piece. I think Facebook is the worst offender. twitter is perfect for publishing a single thought, a joke, a link w/ little or no need for comment. A blog is too much overhead for these types of things. I think it’s good to have another venue, and it keeps the blog free from windy, do-nothing posts. Well, ideally.

    Facebook, though, tries to do it all and lock it all up behind the garden wall.

    But yeah, I want to get back to blogging myself. Even so I think Twitter is my day-to-day go-to. Blogging should be more thought-out and somewhat more occasional.

  3. April 22, 2011 3:28 am

    Vijay,

    Thanks – you are doing some great things recently… Your development is amazing to watch, and your blog title budding geek is so appropriate. Nice to see the promotion from Gavin on Facebook today! Well done!

    Lee,

    Thanks for stopping by. My notion of writing is nothing compared to yours, but many days I feel my intellect is withering away and I struggle to put a sentence together. My online friends like Erik take me to the woodshed over grammar and spelling on a regular basis. I wonder what Hilda Caldwell would say? Maybe I’m still doing “C” work – decent ideas, but so-so execution.

  4. April 23, 2011 4:56 pm

    I see we have to initiate some projects in that cavernous workshop of yours. Should we get those axles replaced on the Porsche?

    You didn’t say anything about all those trees you have planted!

    See you when I get back.

    Jim

Leave a Reply

