Skip to content

Getting Real in Atlanta with the fine folks at Lithium Technologies

October 18, 2010

I started blogging in June 2006, and noted in my first post that this blog was going to be a bit of a journey of discovery.   I’d been involved social media monitoring for a short while and wanted to do more, and to better understand those who blogged by trying it for myself.    How do you start a new career of sorts?   It turns out, the best way is just to start doing.

Four years and some months later, I found myself in Atlanta with a microphone in my hand and the opportunity to talk about the journey thanks to the good folks at Lithium.

Hopefully this isn’t my deer in the headlights look…

I’ve really enjoyed working with online communities and as our community is nearing 100K registered members and is visited by probably in the range of a million people,  I continue to be amazed by the path that this journey of discovery is taking.  Along the way, I’ve met and had the great fortune to collaborate with some amazing people.

I’m grateful for the opportunity to work for a global technology company like Lenovo, and to be able to partner with a company like Lithium to imagine new features and capabilities that will advance the way in which companies connect with their customers through social media.     If there is “secret sauce”, I think it has to be customer collaboration.   Not just connection or engagement, but collaboration – finding elements of mutual purpose and developing a perpetuation relationship.   I wondered in 2007, as I prepared to launch our community, what would happen if you threw the keys to your customers and let them drive.

In hindsight, I think that was one of the smartest things I could have done.    Thanks Bill, Jane, Erik, Andy, Vijay, Klaus, Andrew, and Andreas.   Thanks David for helping push the boulder up the hill and for always having our back.

(photos courtesy of Lithium)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 1:24 pm

    Thank you for including us in your journey! It’s been a wild ride getting to this point but a fun one, and I’m looking forward to the next phases.

  2. October 19, 2010 1:07 pm

    It has been a good learning experience too in some ways … Is there a webcast where I can watch this?

  3. October 25, 2010 11:52 pm

    slightly late to the party here but a ‘thanks’ is in order from me, too.   the opportunity to contribute, build, and shape customer experiences has been like nothing else.

  4. November 4, 2010 6:18 pm

    Good post. “Social” is about contribution which means sharing ideas, solving problems, and overall helping each other. In your words, it’s about “collaboration”. It’s like an ant nest, everyone does something that contributes to a bigger concept.

    There are leaders who can guide people to create the bigger picture. Mark, you are one of them. 😉 Keep up the good work.

    Jesse B Andersen
    http://www.jessebanderse.com

Leave a Reply

