Skip to content

30 seconds better than last year with no training

September 21, 2010

Last year, I participated in the Magnificent mile’s recreational mile portion of the event and finished in about 10 mins.   That’s not too swift really – averaging out about 6 miles an hour.  Why?  Maybe it had something to do with the pre-run lunch of a Chili-Cheeseburger, fries and a large tea from just up the street at Char-Grill?  Following the run, I vowed that next year I would get in shape and shave two mins off my time…

Well, the year came and went and I did nothing to improve my conditioning, but I decided to hedge my bet this year, skip the burger and make the run on coffee and a fresh peach.  It seemed to work pretty well as I made it through without a pause and improved my time by a bit over 30 seconds.   Maybe next year, I’ll get it together.  There seemed to be plenty of fit folks my age that ran the route in just over six mins, and then of course there were the professionals, the national competitors in the photo above, who came in around 4 mins.   Wow.

What matters most is that it’s all for a cause, and a good one at that.  Another $50K raised this year!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2010 2:42 pm

    a 10-minute mile isn’t bad at all.   it’s the pace of a marathon runner.   i’ll train at that pace quite often.

    coffee and a peach was a good choice.   the caffeine and natural sugar would have provided a boost.

    glad the turnout was big and you had a great time!

  2. October 1, 2010 5:56 pm

    Probably the new Speedos 🙂

Leave a Reply

