Skip to content

Did a Webinar today – maybe should have channeled Dilbert

September 16, 2010

I took part in a webinar today..  I’ll share more about that if I sound like I know what I’m talking about when it airs.  I think I make sense, it just remains to be seen if that is a popularly held opinion or not.

Perhaps I should have started off my flow with some of Scott Adam’s finest – might have been more riveting than listening to me bloviate about a journey and an evolving notion of strategy that has developed over the course of several years. Yup, Scott’s dialed in…

Dilbert.com

For the record, I never blog about being lame, and I’m not in marketing…

Dilbert.com

I say “community” a lot. “Blog” too. For some, everything out there in the ether is blog or ‘blahg’.  How’s them blogs going mark?…

I’m learning to say Facebook and Twitter more too.  Some days, I think I understand Twitter, and can appreciate it, but looking at the sea of @AwesomeSMogul and  #Social @MyBrand #eventpromo worked into so many messages as people  work the network, I’m reminded of a busy corner in NY City with all those cabs honking their horns. When everyone is honking, it kinda looses its effect.   Although, some inexplicably seem to strike a chord and are re-tweeted frantically.   Really?  Why?  Is it just because of who tweeted it, or was the message truly that compelling?  What is the sound of a golden tweet? Maybe when and if I finally crack the code, I’ll know what it sounds like.  Personally, I’m struggling with it – maybe I’m trying to be too pragmatic?

Dilbert.com

I am coming to dread the day where everyone has a 3G / 4G phone and is busy filming the daft things going on about them, uploading to YouTube and then tweeting it all to #fail.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lee permalink
    September 17, 2010 12:36 am

    Webinar. I don’t (necessarily) have anything against the thing itself, but that word . . . . It makes me stabby.

  2. Mark permalink*
    September 17, 2010 1:27 am

    “Stabby”? Is that like “We should keep Lee away from the scissors”?

  3. Lee permalink
    September 17, 2010 1:30 am

    The pointy ones, anyway!

  4. September 19, 2010 1:42 pm

    so you dread the day when everyone becomes more connected to the web. You shouldn’t dread as such, because this gives more opportunities for you as the Social Media Manager… i think it is a good thing as long as you don’t have too many competitions within the company, or people on the web making it for you to work your magics.

    • September 20, 2010 1:09 pm

      leadorg,

      It’s not so much connectivity as time compression and scalability. In 2005/2006 people tended to use blogs and blogs, being “long form” took a bit of thought to compose and a day for search engines to index and so, except for the heavily traffic’d “celebrity bloggers” there was time to find them, read, analyze and decide to engage or not.

      But, that doesn’t scale well, which is why community is so important. People such as yourselves, participating in the community touch and influence many people, and they in turn influence others.

      The interactions in community are bit faster than across blogs. Twitter and Facebook are even faster, and because they are “short form” – 140 characters on twitter – there tends to be less substance and less thought before “send” is pressed.

      With phones, it’s even faster. What it will require is more vigilance – being “always on” for those working to monitor and support / defend a brand. Long term, this could require larger teams and 24 X 7 coverage to keep up. Yes, that is more opportunity as you rightly point out.

      It’s just change

Leave a Reply

