Skip to content

Run of the mill blog post

August 4, 2010

Sometimes I can’t resist punning.  I know it is considered to be one of the lowest forms of humor as my high school English teacher often reminded me on those occasions when I just couldn’t resist interrupting her lesson to make a pun.

I picked up this little mill just before I started my house in 2004 and it has languished,  packed away in storage all this time, never powered on even once by my hand until this past weekend.  I’ve been slowly dragging my tools and gear out of storage and into the shop when I have a few free moments on the weekends and need to get away from the computer for a while.

As I haven’t run a mill in about 22 years, I started with a piece of  scrap aluminum plate that had been the start of somebody else’s go at creating some kind of tooling or jig / fixture.  As I just wanted to try to rebuild some muscle memory – remembering which way the table goes when you turn this wheel or that wheel left or right, I concentrated on making new cuts to erase the previous operators mistakes.

It sounds simple, but if you lapse and turn the wrong way, you cut outside the lines and ruin the dimension of what you are trying to make.  Based on my time so far, what I think  I’m most likely to make for a while is a lot of chips and scrap.  I do have a number of projects that have been waiting for this,  so I need to get back in practice.

I’m shopping for a lathe now.  So many years of doing things “close enough” – now an opportunity to do them to the thousandth of an inch.  Who knows, perhaps a bit of machine shop discipline will help in other areas of my life?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tim permalink
    August 4, 2010 2:50 pm

    Awesome! Glad to see the cobwebs being dusted off all of your treasures.

    Coming Soon: Caterpillar diesel engine in a Pinto

Leave a Reply

