Skip to content

No time to blog?

December 7, 2009

A month elapsed since my last post, and I feel compelled to post something, anything really.  Why am I finding it difficult to continue personal blogging?  Most of my time is now spent online responding to conversations I didn’t begin, or at least not directly.   But, if this blog were nothing but a first practical step on the path to becoming a practitioner in social media, then I have certainly achieved my objective.  No, time isn’t the limiting factor, more rather it is an issue of priority.

Work – Several unfolding issues, and while “I told you so” is sometimes a gratifying if ill-advised retort during a personal conversation, it really has no place in situations where being right is less important than being able to do something to constructively change a situation to the benefit of all.   Social technologies are trending toward greater and greater speed, and are outstripping the ability for traditional approaches to reach consensus on reality, develop and communicate a plan.    Three years ago, blogs were the medium and the barrier to entry required a bit of thought and perhaps 30 minutes to draft an articulate post.   The accepted time to respond seemed to be at least overnight if not days.   Facebook and Twitter have dramatically ramped up the volume of participants while simultaneously lowering the barrier of time and completeness of thought.   Not a bad thing, but certainly a change in dynamics.    There are notions of integration and layering of social platforms with other types of media, multiplying the number of dimensions in which people can connect.   I see these accelerators posing significant new challenges to companies trying to keep pace with an audience that is collectively more intelligent, moves faster, and outnumbers them by a factor of 100k or even a million to one.   But I think there is a potential for a countering force in the form of advanced analytics, and subsequently social network based artificial intelligence that could arrive within five years. 

Home – Lots of time with family this past month, and I expect this will continue through the rest of the holiday season.  Our fourth annual cooking baking extravaganza went over well this past weekend, and I got to spend some quality time with my father in law, watching Alabama defeat Florida for the SEC championship.   I’ve never been one to really follow sports, and Garry entertained my numerous questions on rules, tactics, and overall gameplay.   Having played for Alabama during his college days, his commentary offered a new connection to the game.

Projects – Addressing an exhaust leak on the wife’s Audi is expanding into replacing the converter and upgrading the turbo-charger.  With the shop roof complete, I’ve begun the wiring plan and pricing out the components.  How much power am I going to need?   Copper is king, and is priced accordingly.  Aluminum entrance wiring can be economical, but you have to increase the size dramatically and this leads to complications at the source end at the house.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2009 5:02 pm

    I hear ya – patience has gone by the wayside.

  2. December 9, 2009 3:36 pm

    Facebook and Twitter may have ramped up the volume, but volume of what? Maybe I don’t get exposed to the good stuff, but most of what I get coming across is crap.

    Sure it takes time to put together an entry of value, but just producing talk and entries for the sake of production is silly.

    I like what you have to say and am willing to wait for the entries.

  3. December 10, 2009 4:55 am

    Jim,

    On Facebook, I see a mix of things depending where I look. On my wall, I’m seeing what all my “friends” are writing about and it seems for the most part to be : 1) daily life events – “just finished unpacking the uhaul and boy is my back sore” 2) commentary on news of the day – links to the latest Tiger Woods stuff, etc, 3) All those games from mafia wars to fun in farmville or whatever. Who cares if you found a pink cow???! Twitter seems to be a lot of the 1 and 2, but also, (and more concerning to me in my work capacity) is the ability to blurt out something with a low barrier of thought / effort required. Fine, but it’s ellusive, fast moving and has an effect on sheeple. “Oh wow, a lot of people said bad stuff about XYZ so it must really suck”. Blogs will probably remain my favorite due to the long form. I don’t think in 140 characters. My comment here bears testimony.

  4. December 21, 2009 9:36 pm

    “I don’t think in 140 characters. My comment here bears testimony.”

    that right there is the social media quote of the year.

    blogging has been a fast roller coaster following a bell-shaped curve.

    the original web logs started off as hand-edited HTML pages with random notes of what a person felt like writing that day. content was typically well-thought-out as it took a bit of effort to compose entries.

    the next trend was in automated software like wordpress to make the job easier.   richness of content ramped up because it made the job easier for those already used to producing good info.   popularity also saw a spike because anyone with half a brain and a keyboard could become a blogger.

    as time went on, this popularity brought a shift in social behavior and a society that has no reservation in saying whatever they want, whenever they want.   content began its downward trend.

    the advent of microblogging brought a dramatic influx of content — most of which being purely superficial in nature.   now people say whatever they want, whenever they want, and say it about the silliest little things.

    markitude is solid content.   like jim said, i’d rather wait for the cake than be given doughnuts to tide me over in the interim.   you can microblog about wiping your backside every twelve hours or wait and share the whole bathroom experience.   140 characters simply can’t provide an experience, although i can guarantee many 140-character messages have been sent from a bathroom.

    let that image soak into your brain for just a bit. 😉

  5. December 22, 2009 3:10 am

    More reasons for Wifi than access at the corner coffee shop….

Leave a Reply

