Skip to content

Another door, another week

May 26, 2009

Returning from my trip, the previous weekend was a jumble of laundry, a cookout, odds and ends around the house, and a last batch of chart-making as I polished up my presentation for our SVP.  The week passed with narry a blogworthy moment, the presentation being delayed to the following week (today) and consolidated in time allotment so that I’ll have to say in 10 mins or less what I had hoped to communicate in 45 mins.  

The long weekend slid by, and as it did, we paused to reflect on our freedom and remember all those who have given their lives to establish and maintain it, from the signing of the Declaration of Independence, the revolutionary war, the civil war, the world wars I & II, through countless other conflicts large and small.  I hope that our leaders pause to remember this as well, and consider that our own legislation can be a far greater threat to our personal freedoms than any threat from foreign power.   Sometimes, the pen is indeed mightier than the sword and I hope that wisdom will continue to prevail over political pressures and expediencies of the day.

As the weather was pleasant, I spent a lot of it outside working in the yard, on the shop,  and walking amongst the many projects I have scattered about.   I did manage to get the second shop door installed.   I moved the crane to the opposite end of the building and set up, dropping the cable down through the open roof as before.

DSCF0551

A single choker strap around the mid point worked well to hoist the rolled door.

DSCF0552

As I reached the top, I turned the controls over to Leslie and climbed a ladder to guide the rolled door onto the brackets.  A slight inclination of the boom shifts the door toward the wall, bringing it into alignment, and then the cable is let out to lower it into place.

DSCF0553

Remembering the lessons from the first door, we guided it into the tracks and installed all of the stops before proceeding further.  It operates but I’ll need to tune the spring tension a bit.   It’s an interesting feeling to now stand inside the walls with the doors closed and the space defined.  While still open to the sky, it feels more and more like a building.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tim permalink
    May 26, 2009 1:50 pm

    Glad to see more progress Mark. I just wish I could’ve been there to lend a hand. Keep up the good work

  2. nanombroyles permalink
    May 26, 2009 3:14 pm

    This looks way harder than the IKEA bunkbed that took me 4 days to put together.

Leave a Reply

