Skip to content

Difficult to delete

April 27, 2009

Cleaning out my inbox today and I found several notes from my Aunt who passed away on Easter Sunday.   Many of the notes which collect in our inboxes from friends and family tend to be mundane in normal context – a forwarded joke or inspirational quote, a story with a moral.

So often we press the delete key, recycling those bits on our hard disk, or that server somewhere in the cloud.     Does the last email you received from someone you knew suddenly take on more meaning after their passage?   I’m finding that it does for me knowing that there won’t be any more notes coming from that particular email ID in the future. 

In our increasingly pervasive digital age, the echos of our thoughts, our past posts of wisdom, humor, and the occasionally vented spleen may continue to live on after us, circulating throughout the blogosphere.

Will our electronic footprint be deeper than our physical ones?   Does the electronic age change the nature of one’s legacy, and how we will be known and remembered?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tim permalink
    April 27, 2009 11:11 pm

    Is an e-mail any different than a small, otherwise insignificant ‘physical’ token left by someone? I suppose a direct correlation would be a generic greeting card, inscribed with a greeting from the lost loved one. In my case, when my grandmother passed, my grandfather handed me a letter from a credit card or power company with a check in my grandmother’s name and told me to hold onto it in his rather grief stricken state. The amount was a few cents, the balance of an overpayment, but that previously insignificant piece of almost junk mail suddenly had more value than the paper it was printed on or even that of the check.

  2. vijay permalink
    April 28, 2009 7:04 pm

    My granny was something like a strong supporting pillar for me till i grew u(since my parents went to do their jobs)i was virtually under her care.Memories which you tend to remember when you look at their souvenirs bring them back into your thoughts.Thats what happens to me always..

  3. April 30, 2009 12:19 am

    I still hang on to the email from my aunt Andy. She was a very special person to me as I was growing up and I like to re-read some of the words we traded.

    As a young kid it was hard to listen to my parents, but somehow it was far easier to listen to and take advice from my aunt, even if it was the same.

    I still wish I could talk with her.

Leave a Reply

