Skip to content

Work thereapy

February 2, 2009

The weather was reasonable for winter, so I spent some time outside this past weekend working  on the shop project,  painting  railings which have remained unfinished since the house was largely completed in 2006, and trading work time with my neighbor.   Like myself, he has so many projects going that it is difficult to concentrate on just one thing.   My wife swears I’m developing ADHD, and my neighbor says that he’s afflicted with the “shiny thing syndrome” as well.   While working on one thing, we reach for a tool and find that something else is loose, broken, or needing attention and stop to fix it before returning to the main project. 

While helping him move shelves from his garage to his newly completed workshop, we stopped to work on a generator, repair a crawlspace vent, made a run to the dump, and then decided to take a break and install some more siding and insulation on my shop.

Maybe she has a point…

dscf0457

We’ve made it around three sides and have only this end to complete before we can hang the entrance doors and then move on to  insulating and sheeting the roof.  

dscf0459

The inside view reveals the scaffold, and vinyl backed insulation.   The scaffold makes an excellent jungle gym and if I worked out climbing it daily, I might have more success in shaking off the holiday weight.    I’m looking forward to warmer weather and more daylight hours.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2009 2:04 am

    Lookin’ good so far, Mark!

    Now for my ADD to kick in…

    The scaffold makes an excellent jungle gym and if I worked out climbing it daily, I might have more success in shaking off the holiday weight.

    Heck, with all that wall space, you could install a small bouldering wall partially on two faces — 8′ high, no rope needed, no spotter needed, and just a mat on the floor. 😛

  2. February 3, 2009 3:57 am

    Ah, those things… Yeah, I tried one of those at Universal studios – got the harness, ropes ect. And, tried to climb the wall in docksiders. About 2/3 of the way up I failed.

  3. February 3, 2009 2:45 pm

    ROFL… I can only imagine someone in docksiders trying to climb a wall.   That painted an absolutely comical picture in my head. 😀

Leave a Reply

