Skip to content

2008 Retrospective

December 29, 2008

What do we learn about ourselves looking back?

In 2006, I likened years in my life to chapters in a book and noted that some chapters seem to be written in bold, chronicaling major changes in life – marriage, births, deaths, relocation, graduation… other chapters seem to continue a particular course we are set upon, coloring in some details and background character development.   2006 was one of those bold chapters in my life, as was 2003.

Contrastingly, 2007 was more of the latter – just continuation upon some of the same lines.  More construction projects, more development and exploration of social media within business, and settling into married life.

Looking back on 2008, I see it as more evolution of the same plot lines.  I began construction of my workshop in earnest – the last leg of a long journey to create a facility in which I can express myself.  It’s hard to believe I started on this road eight years ago.  The journey taken has been one of change and growth and was certainly not the shortest distance between two points.

This year, I worked on  making our house more of a home as I finished the fireplace and we finally settled into the living room after 2 years of scaffolds, plastic, mortar and stone.  I expect next year will see our landscape develop, and a push toward clean up and organization so that guests find our home and not a construction site / salvage yard.

The forum community I launched in December 2007 has grown to over 25 thousand members, and I’ve learned a lot of things – foremost, that I still have much to learn.    This has been a tremendous opportunity to work with some great people and to learn to trust myself to undertake prudent risks.   How does one learn to be a rain maker if not through trial and error? 

What kind of chapter was 2008 in the book of your life?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2008 5:59 pm

    2008 seems to be a pivotal year in my “book of life” although life does not respect the calendar and there still is a lot of development going on lately. 2009 should be shaky. I expect it to be and will be somewhat disappointed if it turns out to be a slow year.

    Happy new year, Mark!

  2. December 31, 2008 2:53 am

    2008 sure beat the hell out of 2007. 2007 was bold. 2008 was — not easy — but easier on the home front. At the job, I finished a couple of big projects, but they were nothing compared to the Project of summer 2007. This was more a year of consolidating gains and settling in, I suppose.

  3. December 31, 2008 4:54 am

    i started the year without any major goals in mind yet accomplished quite a lot both on personal and work levels.   2008 was a bumpy ride but the sore back seems worth the drive.   i look forward to the new year.

    happy 2009, mark!

  4. sweetlybroken permalink
    January 3, 2009 7:09 pm

    As I step from one year into the next I can’t help but gasp at the speed that life seems to go. I swear the older I get the quicker time flies. Last year was much like 2007 with spurts of growth followed by days of wonder and moments of stagnation. I hope 2009 is the same because life is awesome.
    Happy New Year to you and yours Mark.

Leave a Reply

