Skip to content

Thanksgiving thoughts ’08

November 26, 2008

Last year, there was a 7 things I’m thankful for blog tag going round… and I shared what I was most thankful for.

As I reflect on that list, it remains much the same this year, and I continue to be blessed with good health, employment, and relative prosperity during this time of uncertainty.    If I were to think about a list this year, it might go something like this…

1) I’m thankful for my health – something we often take for granted in our youth when we heal quickly and revel in the undefined limits of our mortality.   As we age, and begin to define those limits, and test them now and again, our appreciation of what we have tends to improve.  It certainly has for me.

2) I’m thankful for my wife who loves me, and our family and friends who share life’s journey with us, and bear us up when we are depressed and downtrodden, who share our burdens and help solve our problems.   I’m also thankful for my wife’s new career opportunity this year – a chance for her to be more fulfilled in what she does.

3) I’m thankful for my job opportunities – those who have helped shape the course of things over the last several years by believing in me, and who have helped to envision, invent, and make possible what we are doing. 

4) I’m thankful for a very unique group of our customers, who have believed in a course we’ve set, and who have volunteered collectively, thousands of hours of time over this past year to help ensure our success.

5) I’m thankful for the country in which I live – though divided in opinion, united in hope that tomorrow will be better than today.  While we may moan and groan, sometimes we need to be reminded of the comparative circumstances of others to truly appreciate what have.  

What are you most thankful for this year … ?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2008 5:18 pm

    i haven’t constructed my list yet but it would definitely include numbers 1, 3, and 5.   2 applies to me in part (as i’m not married) and 4 applies to me on the giving end and not receiving, although i’m sure i could figure out a way to reciprocate that concept in my own work.

    besides the obvious of being thankful for family and friends, 2008 has brought me countless opportunities in both work and personal projects.   to me it’s a bit odd to be thankful for work but i strongly believe that an idle mind is a wasted one.   so, i guess i’m thankful for family, friends, opportunity, work, and my mind.   remove any of those from the equation and i wouldn’t be who i am or where i am today.

    have a great thankgiving, mark!

  2. November 26, 2008 7:58 pm

    I’m thankful for my family and friends who love and support me in good times and bad.

    I’m thankful for my paycheck in these uncertain times and for my teammates who work together instead of against one another.

    I’m thankful for BillM who trusts me enough to let me drive his baby.

    I’m thankful for Mark who re-ignited my passion for what I do and is taking it in new directions.

    I’m thankful that I live in a country where the peaceful transfer of power is SOP.

    Have a Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

  3. November 28, 2008 2:26 am

    Wow, Jane, how are we supposed to follow that one?

    I’m thankful for all the directions my life has taken. Not all of them were pleasant at the time, but they’ve all turned out for the better. These included the move to North Carolina when I was much younger, how college turned out, and a new relationship.

    My friends, family, and job are also things I am very thankful for, but the above is what has really been on my mind.

  4. December 4, 2008 1:39 pm

    1) I’m thankful that I don’t have to live in a town surrounded by Jersey barriers and checkpoints with soldiers holding automatic weapons.

    2)I’m thankful that when I go to a good movie that all the explosions are just Hollywood.

    3)I’m thankful that I don’t have to worry about heating my house or buying petrol for my vehicles.

    4)I’m thankful that when I go shopping for food that there is plenty there with so many choices that I can satisfy more than just my hunger.

    5)I’m thankful that I can travel around my country on a whim and not have to worry that I don’t have papers giving me permission.

    6)I’m thankful that even with all the technology available I can find reading someone’s thoughts in a book quietly satisfying.

    7)I’m thankful for the people that count me as a friend who put up with my ramblings and will allow me to still hang out with them.

    Happy holidays to all of you and see you in an even better next year.

Leave a Reply

