Skip to content

Return to workshop construction

November 3, 2008

With favorable weather and a some greatly appreciated help from friends, slow progress on my workshop resumed.  Since my last updates on the steel frame, I completed the non-glamorous activity of trimming the outside edges of the slab square, and screwing an angle iron flange around the base, and affixing a complimentary angle on the outside to hold the bottom edge of the siding.

 

Sunday, we craned two long walkboards on the roof.  Each walk way was four feet long and about twenty one feet long.  These will later be used to install the roof insulation and subsequent metal sheathing.   The building swayed as I walked along and sixteen feet suddenly seemed a long way down.

Our last preparatory task before we could begin the installation and siding was to install lengths of angle iron along the ends of the roof rafters (purlins) to define the roof edge and provide a subsequent attachment point for the top of the wall sheeting and the edges of the roof sheets.

Tim and Jim manned the ladders and hoisted up their end…

Tim secures the end in place with self drilling, self sealing screws driven by a 3/8″ 18V DeWalt cordless impact wrench.   And with much stretching and balancing, we worked our way along adding fasteners at each intersection.

While we could have measured and calculated the intersecting angles in the middle and precut the pieces ahead of time, reflective of my typical approach, I just overlapped the pieces and then cut them in place with my cut off saw.  I’m using a diamond concrete blade but found it works on steel as well and with less sparks than with a composite blade.  If you look carefully you can see a smattering of glowing sparks in picture – nothing like the huge plume resulting from a composite wheel.

Having lost the benefit of daylight savings time, our light began to fade as we rolled out the first 15′ length of wall insulation and carried it up the scaffold to clamp at the top and then unfurl.

As darkness fell, we had secured the first piece of siding, clamping the insulation in place.  The first piece of siding on each wall is important to set square and plumb as each subsequent piece overlaps.  It felt a bit anti-climatic to close the day with a single piece of siding in place, but I reminded myself that only a single column was raised in the first work session on the framing, and steady progress was made thereafter.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2008 9:55 pm

    no safety glasses?   ack.   having had 304 stainless embedded in my right eye before, i take safety glasses quite seriously nowadays.

    too bad i don’t live closer.   i would have been there to help.

    lookin’ good so far!

  2. November 9, 2008 12:04 am

    Erik,

    Irony is cruel – I’ve had a steel particle in my eye before too, and it wasn’t stainless and it created a “rust ring” on my eye and they wound up doing some unpleasant things to resolve it. The irony is, the injury happened WHILE I was wearing safety glasses.

    There is also a really good reason you don’t weld in dock siders, although I still do. I had a blob of molten steel drop down inside. It burned a quarter sized hole in my sock and a crater the diameter of a penny in the top of my foot.

    So far, I’ve not sawed anything off. Knock on wood.

    Also, no matter hot hot it is in the summer, do NOT take your shirt off while spending all day arc welding in July. Some five years ago, I dedided to weld up the grousers on my dozer and as it was July / August and it takes quite a while to weld up 84 pads I was really pretty toasty red. Learned that lesson and won’t ever reapeat it. Hurt worse than the burn on my foot.

  3. November 9, 2008 12:46 am

    yeah… UV rays are a bitch. 😀

    a good friend of mine got a piece of steel in the white part of his eye and it rusted.   it had to be ground out with what looked like the world’s smallest fordham die grinder.   that was crazy.

    learning how to weld is next on my list.   that mystery UPS package i thought was an S10 turned out to be the mugen 4-2-1 header i had imported from japan.   it took so long to get here that i totally forgot about it.   this thing has some of the most beautiful TIG welds i’ve ever seen.   i’m tossed between installing it or hanging it on the wall as art.

  4. November 15, 2008 2:37 am

    i should update that the stainless was actually in my left eye.   it seemed like my right eye because that’s how it looked in the mirror!   haha 😀

  5. August 10, 2010 7:22 pm

    Nice photos of the work. Only a single column was raised in the first work ?

  6. mark permalink*
    August 10, 2010 11:24 pm

    Robert,

    Referring to my first post?
    https://markitude.wordpress.com/2008/08/25/first-column/

    Yeah, I unloaded the trailer where I had all the materials stacked and only had time to put up one column before I had to go do something else. Having just small chunks of time tends to draw out large projects.

    You’ll be pleased to know I put up all the sheetmetal with dewalt 18v impact drivers.

Trackbacks

  1. 10 years into the future | markitude

Leave a Reply

