Skip to content

First column

August 25, 2008

At the end of a weekend filled with hard work and a number of set backs, I was able to erect the first column of my new shop.   (It’s a bit hard to see, it’s brown and just to the right of the ladder – for scale, the ladder is 8 feet and the column beam is 13’7″)

It now feels like the building is really started in earnest.  But what really marks the beginning?  Is it this first piece of steel, or the first spatter of concrete, the first shovel of earth, the first line drawn on paper, or the moment I decided I wanted to do this? 

This project, is perhaps a metaphor for my life, full of starts, setbacks, and breakthroughs, with an occasional detour thrown in.   I talk about detour because the shortest distance between two points is a straight line, but that is seldom the path I travel.  Eight years ago, I wanted a large shop because I was working on cars.    I thought that was my end goal, but in the course of the journey, I’ve found that is not the case.

The shortest distance would have been to purchase or lease something which already existed.  Instead I decided to buy some land, some equipment, and with help along the way from my wife, family and friends, learn to build this along with a new house, myself.  This journey has taught me much about who I am, how I define my identity and sense of self worth.  Even when the shop is done, I know it is not the end of my journey, but just one of many beginnings.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

