Skip to content

Mid-July commentary

July 15, 2008

It’s the middle of July in North Carolina and day or night, going outside to do more than taking out the trash will result in very damp clothes.   Damp from the latent humidity, personal perspiration, or the frequent thundershower.

No matter how many hours I put in my day, the churn and burn of dealing with tactical situations is sapping my progress in taking over the world.  Once upon a time I was told that career was more akin to a marathon than the 100 yard dash.  Plan and act accordingly.   Understandable, but often difficult to accept.

The pad for my new workshop has been curing silently for the last couple of months, and sometime in the next several weeks, a tractor trailer or two are going to show up with all the steel, doors, and insulation for the building.   I’ve been doing some work on the crane, getting it ready to unload the trucks and in shape to put up the building. 

Like many, I have listened passively to news of the sub-prime mortgage melt down, seemingly secure in the wisdom of the 30 year fixed rate mortgage and home equity line of credit.  Today, I received email that my mortgage lender’s assets were seized by the FDIC, as IndyMac becomes the 3rd largest institution to fail at 32 Billion.  Good fortune was with me as I had just written myself a check from the HELOC to pay for the new shop the week prior, and none too soon, so it would seem.  

How many of us go through each day thinking that news is what happens to other people?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2008 1:55 pm

    *Raises hand*
    That can’t happen to me. I won’t be a statistic.

    My marriage status and driving record say otherwise.

  2. sweetlybroken permalink
    July 18, 2008 2:05 am

    great post, sad news about yet another lending company failure and how it affects you. Funny thing about news “happening to other people”, to you I am the other person and vice versa.
    Looking forward to posts and photos of you shop in progress.

    Ya know………….. Canada isn’t quite so hot in the summer 😀

Leave a Reply

