Skip to content

The email grenade

June 27, 2008

 How many of you have reached that point of sheer frustration with some cube dwelling, mouth breathing denizen who is using up the very oxygen that you may well need tomorrow, and this sad state of affairs has led you to abandon all diplomacy and lambaste them via email with a substantial audience on carbon copy for effect?

This happened to me today.  I reached the end of my rope, and I might add that it took almost nine months to reach it.   Who knew I had that much rope?

Will see what kind of a crater exists tomorrow when I log in, and wonder if I’ll spend the day fending off the counter offensive or trying to fill it back up with dirt before anyone else notices.

So,  anyone out in bloggerville lob an email grenade and wonder why there is no “unsend” option on the system?   If so, what were the circumstances of your most memorable missive… ?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2008 10:33 am

    Oh… I can SO relate to this post.

    I have sent two email grenades in the last 3 years (I’d say I have a lower boiling point than you, I have Italian blood after all); one was a massive escalation, the second email was a one-on-one rant.

    The first yielded the desired results, but its undesired side effects haunt me to this day (I’ll tell you more about this one in a more private environment). The second one just faded away in the air.

    On both cases the scenario was that people were not taking responsibilities under a “crisis” scenario over an extended period of time. That is, most probably the one thing that can piss me off more than anything.

    After all this time working together I think I’m comfortable saying that if you reached to a point where sending an e-grenade was your last (?) resort it must of been very justified. You are a Zen master of patience, and if I ever got a bombastic note from you I’d know I’ve done something really wrong!

  2. July 15, 2008 1:01 pm

    Grenades are fun. Did you survive yours?

  3. November 1, 2008 9:59 pm

    i tossed a grenade today.   oddly enough, the pin never got pulled but it still managed to explode.

    the aftermath is currently unknown.

Leave a Reply

