Skip to content

Day 2, wrap up and the trip home

May 25, 2008

We wrapped up day 2 of the conference with presentations from other community managers, and then I had an opportunity to talk about our efforts.    As I was the last presenter before a much needed coffee break, I kept my remarks short.

Over lunch, I chatted with the CEO of the company that hosted the conference, and young man in his early 30’s.   The conference wrapped, and some of us elected to visit the company and tour the facilities.   A rare opportunity to see new products under development and to spitball ideas with the developers.    Rubbing shoulders with many super bright people, I had no delusions about being the smartest guy in the room.  Yet, I found a few of my ideas were well received and the developers scribbled them down.  Maybe one or two will make it through into production.

Another great dinner with a couple remaining community managers, then my client rep drove us to the airport.  I caught a 10:40 pm red eye flight back home and arrived about 8:35 Friday morning.   I chose the flight partly out of necessity for the schedule and also partly for the experience of knowing what that was like.   Suffice it to say I don’t want a job in which I would frequently find myself in coach for more than about 2 hours.  Six hours of having my knees unknowingly crushed by the person ahead of me who had reclined his seat was about five and a half hours too long.

All told, the trip was more than I could have hoped for.  I return with new ideas for revolution, and also the clear understanding that what I’ve achieved so far constitutes a good start.  

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

