Skip to content

Dogs bark, people blog…

April 16, 2008

Each morning, somewhere around O’dark thirty, our dogs start to bark.   They bark at the deer grazing in the field behind our house, or at a cat skulking through the woods, and more often than not, the dogs seem to bark just because they can.   I know the barking is a form of communication, a challenge to anything that moves, or even smells like it might be in their territory.   But, it’s the underlying “why” of this behavior that interests me.  Why, the dog is compelled to communicate, to assert it’s presence.  It’s something fundamental about being alive perhaps.

Humans experience some of those same primal motivations.  We need to communicate and be heard.  This itch has been scratched in so many ways – public oration, authorship of books, newspaper, radio, TV, and now social media – blogging.

Perhaps blogs are just a human way of barking at the world.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. twobarkingdogs permalink
    April 17, 2008 12:05 pm

    You hit it right on the nose (or should I say snout).

    My one dog barks just because she can.

  2. April 17, 2008 2:43 pm

    Excellent thought. It is funny whenever someone asks me why I do certain things my most common answer is “because I can”.

    Keep barking to the world, Mark!

  3. sweetlybroken permalink
    April 21, 2008 4:14 pm

    hmmm, if dogs could speak English I wonder if my two would ask me why I sing :D.
    Great post, thanks for the giggle.

Trackbacks

  1. Why do Dogs Bark? « A Lab’s Life

Leave a Reply

