Skip to content

Drystack stone – almost done

March 13, 2008

Standing on the third section of scaffold, I’m within about two feet of the top of the chimney and just past the 90% mark on the project.  I’m well over the hump of disillusionment that usually creeps in around the 50% point where it feels like I have been working forever on something and as far as I have come, there is at least that much yet to do.  Now, with the end in sight, I have some mixed feelings.

drystack-near-top.jpg

I’ve grown to enjoy picking through different stones, trying to find just the right one to put into place next.  Randomizing color and texture while matching height and width to the space required has just the right mix of repetitive manual effort and mental stimulation to be therapeutic.   While I’ll be glad to finally have the use of the living room, once this is complete, I’ll also miss working on this project.  

To the observant – yes, one of the spot lights burned out.  No, I can’t reach it from the scaffold.  Why again did I think a 21 foot ceiling was going to be a good idea ?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2008 12:57 pm

    Congrats man, it’s been a long time coming!

  2. March 19, 2008 11:48 pm

    This looks fantastic Mark. We must have a celebration !!!

Leave a Reply

