Skip to content

Manage it or it will manage you…

March 3, 2008

Like the adage of work smarter, not harder, this one has a lot of truth to it no matter how cliche’ it has become.    I’ve thrown myself into a number of large projects in my life, and make up for shortcomings in skills with a modicum of intelligence, and a large amount of sheer stubbornness.  

Recently, I’ve taken on a bit more at work than I bargained for and it’s consuming all my time.    The infrequency of posts here is one telling symptom – I don’t have time for personal blogging, and as a contributing factor, I seem to have less to write about because all my waking hours are consumed with work.  The worst part is that the majority of my time is going to fire fighting, and only a portion of that effort is strategic and where I need to be spending my time.  However it must be done.    I’m reaching my limit in terms of all the small balls I can keep up with, and I plan to grow the scope and scale of what I’m doing by a factor of 10 over the next nine months.

 Today, it’s managing me.   Tomorrow, I’m going to manage it…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

