Skip to content

Giving experiences instead of things

January 31, 2008

I like stuff – and tend buy durable goods.    While argueably, there is value to this approach, an exclusive adherence to this philosophy can make one narrow and dull.   Luckily, my wife knows me well, and took advantage of my recent birthday to get us out of the house, and afforded a memorable experience.

We went to see “Cats” as a broadway south production.  I’ve seen the show before in NY at the Wintergarden theatre, and found that a few things had changed a bit in this production.   This really thoughtful gift got me off my mental treadmill and was a very welcome escape for several hours.

This is one of my favorite parts of Cats– very evocative and powerful… (Grizabella seen here, played by Elaine Paige)

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 31, 2008 6:46 pm

    OK, that’s it, you and Leslie are in trouble now. I didn’t know it was your birthday!!

Leave a Reply

