Skip to content

Seven things I’m thankful for

November 21, 2007

One of the neat things about blogging is the social network – those in your blogroll that you link to and whose sites your read as often as possible.  Beyond passive readership, one tries to have ongoing discussion with those people, drawing upon inspiration as possible.

So, Adam tagged me with this meme on being thankful.  Rather appropriate, as this is the Thanksgiving holiday after all.

I take a lot for granted, selfishly focusing on what is yet to be done, or on the things I’m working toward.   As a result, my perspective can get warped, and I would probably be more confident and at peace if I’d reflect back on what I have to be thankful for.

 I’m thankful for:

  1. My life and health – everyday above ground is a chance to do something, to touch and influence others.  I’m thankful to be alive and will try to remember that more as the really trivial stuff crosses my inbox daily.
  2. My wife Leslie, who is there for me everyday, who loves me unconditionally, and who believes in me when even I don’t.
  3. My friends – one of the riches in life we often take for granted.  Friends matter so much in this life, contributing to us daily, enabling our soaring success, and saving us from abysmal failure.  I had a good friend help me last night – he’s still recovering from a cold, but he didn’t turn me away, and instead spent 4 hours in a cold garage working on an unpleasant task, with nary a cross word or the slightest indication that he might have preferred to huddle on the couch, under a blanket with a warm beverage.  Your friends are those that will gladly share your burden, and you theirs.  
  4. I’m thankful for my family, those related to me by blood or relationship.  Those that welcome us into their homes, and those that donated so much of their time these past several years helping us along.
  5. I’m thankful for my job, and the opportunities it affords me.   We often think in terms of our paycheck and what it does for us – supporting our way of life.  I’m also thankful for the workplace itself, those I work with and learn from, and from those that have become my friends along the way.  I’m thankful for those who will take the journey with us – who contribute to our success from outside – our customers and supporters.
  6. I’m thankful for my home, several years in the making, and built largely by the labors of love of my family and friends.  Some of those who bore us up during some rather dark days of the project, who stood with us as we faced new challenges and uncertainty, and who worked literally round the clock in the final days.   
  7. I’m thankful for our pets who are always happy we have returned home and come running to meet us.

 So this year, I’ve got a lot to be thankful for.  My cup runnenth over.

 Jim, David, Krista, Esteban, and Tim – what are you thankful for this year?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2007 1:36 pm

    Thanks Mark, for giving me the opportunity to answer this important question. Like you, I am happy to be alive and relatively healthy. No, I don’t feel as invulnerable as I did when I was in my late teens and early twenties, but I appreciate that I had those times to enjoy and now savor the memories. Friends and relatives have always been important to me, but as the years go on even more so.
    The other night I got a text message from an old friend who is going through the unpleasant process of a divorce and it read: What is the meaning of life?
    That question brought a lot of sympathy from me as I am sure it was posed during one of his more painful episodes.
    To me the meaning of life is to make certain that you give life meaning. It is totally up to you how much meaning life has. You can sit and wait for life to deliver meaning and you will be very disappointed. Or you can define every day what meaning you will carve out of life and do something of value. It doesn’t have to be a cure for cancer or creating world peace. It can be helping a friend through the agony of divorce or a stranger to change a flat tire.
    After all that your reward will be a few more bills in the mail and a hairball that your cat threw up on the comforter that you just got back from the cleaners. You can scream about the bills and yell at the cat, but that really won’t add any meaning to your life.
    You can take it one step at a time as you pay the bills and clean up the mess, and realize that out of the 6.4 billion souls on this earth you have it pretty good.
    As the day comes to an end that little furry creature will be happy to curl up with you and share the warmth.

Trackbacks

  1. The Challenge » Seven things I’m thankful for
  2. Thanksgiving thoughts ‘08 « markitude

Leave a Reply

