Skip to content

Wireless connectivity = digital crack

September 14, 2007

wireless-router.gif Recently, I setup a wireless router for our home’s network, and it has tremendously changed my work habits.  In the past, I tried to keep work at work,  and had only a single system connected to the outside world here at our house in the office.  But, now with the wireless, computing is becoming more “pervasive”.   Over this last week or so, I feel compelled to keep checking my email, or correspond with colleagues over an instant messaging system.

This allows me to bridge time zones communicating with people 12 hours ahead of me, and having interactive communications with them in real time.  This blending of work / life is good, but a bit addicting.  I’m working on some exciting projects just now, and have ready access to some very charismatic leaders and utterly amazing colleagues who are producing some very creative things to sample.

It’s addictive, and very easy to get drawn into.   I can’t blame the wireless completely, but it’s such an enabler, allowing one to break down the compartmentalization of life.  I now begin to understand the blackberry addictions people have, and the prominent rise of “texting”.   I’m going to continue to foreswear these things.   I’ve got to draw the line somewhere…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2007 5:24 pm

    You forgot to mention the greatest advantage of wireless ever: working from the couch. Nothing beats that!

    One has to agree, drawing the line is almost impossible, when working on interesting things I also find myself checking mail to see what the reactions are.

  2. sweetlybroken permalink
    September 16, 2007 11:26 pm

    try going without for 5 weeks 🙂 welcome to the world of wireless addictions.

  3. September 17, 2007 1:53 pm

    I love that picture you found – I dunno, something about the Lego-esque nature of it.

    My favorite working place is definitely Bruegger’s Bagels, thanks to their wireless at my local location. Pick me up a large Hazelnut coffee and salt bagel with bacon, egg, & cheese – and I’m set. For some reason I work really well there – maybe it is the friendly staff, or maybe it is the coffee refills they bring…

Leave a Reply

