Skip to content

Suppose famous authors were alive and blogging….

August 9, 2007

Face it, most blogs tend toward the mundane, which explains why Technorati claims over 70 million of them, yet we may subscribe to only several dozen, and probably read from or participate in far fewer.  My lot is no exception.

As readers, what really grabs our attention, and brings us back?  In some cases, it may be a unique subject, but more often than not it is the caliber of writer behind the blog.  It is the point of view, the vocabulary, the craftsmanship of phrases that are delivered with panache.  Some of the best examples are entertainment, in the form of biting social satire.

Last year, I got turned onto The Secret Diary of Steve Jobs, of FSJ as it’s become known.  Several days ago, the blogger was finally unmasked.  While the content won’t change, I wonder if it will slowly lose some of it’s mojo now that the element of mystery is gone?  Time will tell.

I also stop in to read the Angry Aussie  from time to time to see what he’s peeved about these days.   Recently, a post from the blog down under caught my eye – it was about when insults had class.  Once upon a time,  words were chosen carefully, and one had to consider their meaning for a moment.    I certainly couldn’t produce even a rough facsimile of one these upon demand.  Here are a few of my favorites from his post – do make time to read it in entirety…

“He uses statistics as a drunken man uses lampposts… for support rather than illumination. ” –
Andrew Lang

“Why do you sit there looking like an envelope without any address on it?”
Mark Twain

“He has never been known to use a word that might send a reader to the dictionary.”
William Faulkner (about Ernest Hemingway)

“I am enclosing two tickets to the first night of my new play. Bring a friend… if you have one.”
George Bernard Shaw to Winston Churchill

“Cannot possibly attend first night, will attend second… if there is one.”
Winston Churchill, in response

“He is not only dull himself; he is the cause of dullness in others.”
Samuel Johnson

“I’ve just learned about his illness. Let’s hope it’s nothing trivial.”
Irvin S. Cobb

So, reading these epithets, I have to wonder how the blogs of Winston churchill, or Mark Twain would read, if they were alive today to write them?  I have to believe their style and commentary would drawn quite a following.   An Anachronistic blog perhaps, transporting the wisdom and style from simpler times and reveling in it’s commentary on our technological morass. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lee permalink
    August 9, 2007 4:50 pm

    Ooo. I wish Dorothy Parker had a blog. Now that would be some spicy reading.

  2. August 9, 2007 6:03 pm

    Mark Twain… one can’t grow tired of reading his quotes. If he had a blog I’d have it in my RSS.

  3. August 10, 2007 2:10 am

    Ooooh, I sense a meme coming on… Five historical figures you wish had blogs. 🙂 I’ll have to think about my list.

Leave a Reply

