Skip to content

Resume’ Blogging

May 11, 2007

No, not blogging about resume’ writing tips and techniques.  I’m talking about the concept of using your blog as a dynamic resume’.  This seems to work best for those in journalism, marketing, advertising, or social media analysis and consulting, where what you see is what you get.  For the rest of us, our blog entries tell the world a lot about us – they are living resume’s of sorts.   A quick search found Joshua Porter’s blog, in which he explores the subject quite capably, along with links to his orginal source of inspiration for the post.  The original source and comments are worth the read as well.   After reading his post and comments, and considering it a bit myself, I’m left with two principle points:

1) You can be evaluated on not only the nature of your content, but the skill in which you serve it up – appearance, technical prowess.  

2) Even general posts about our daily life activities communicate to the audience subtly what skills we may have.  

Are we pegged as a loaner, or a well networked, “team player”?   Do we undertake and chronical complex projects? Are we seen as ambitious?    Are we seen ask a risk taker?  How about our outlook – is it positive, or are we overly critical?   What proficiency in unique trades or arts do we demonstrate?   Are we an analytical thinker?  Do we demonstrate purpose?

Our blogs tell the world a lot about who we are, what we can do, and how we do it.   Are we cognisant of the picture we are painting?  Upon reflection, do we have an image we would like to project?  Is the style, appearance, and content of our blog “on message”?  

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2007 6:53 pm

    This makes complete sense. In fact, if you blog in the area of your career, I think it would actually be better and more reliable than a resume. Thanks for the tip.

  2. voxy permalink
    May 11, 2007 7:01 pm

    I think ‘resume blogging’ has some potential, but whether it would replace the convential resumes, urm… a bit hard to tell. I agree with you that our blogs shows what skills we have, it’s a good reflection, and people can definitely perceive a lot from just our blogs alone.

    … just tag surfing.

  3. May 11, 2007 7:27 pm

    As you and I talked about this the other day Mark, we need to be cognizant of the fact that any public communication linked to ourselves stands to represent ourselves to anyone reading it. The internet makes this information searchable of course, more easily if you directly identify yourself, but more importantly it makes anything you publish a nearly permanent record. Through automatic web archiving groups or the more common Google cache-ing feature, your posts can become permanent after a short amount of time.

    As far as representing yourself professionally as well as personally in a blog, I have been tackling this myself as I do not represent myself professionally in my blog very well. In web marketing today, your blog is practically a business card when working within the industry. Look for some thoughts on this from me soon, I think I have some ideas on how to more easily segment this within a blog compared to making separate blogs for personal, work, etc.

  4. May 13, 2007 11:37 pm

    Fascinating topic. While I think one could do some damage to their reputation by making a heinous misstatement, I also think a personal blog, on the whole, allows a stranger to get a very whole picture in a ver short time,

  5. May 14, 2007 1:04 am

    Tim, you got me hooked with “I think I have some ideas on how to more easily segment this within a blog compared to making separate blogs for personal, work, etc.” This is a struggle for me as well.

    Personally I don’t blog with an aim in mind, many times the blog helps me to put some order on thoughts, other times it’s the exact opposite.

    I do agree, today you can learn MUCH more from someone through their blog than through a resume. For some time now I’ve been careful on what I write, for a whole set of different reasons, one of them being my public perception.

Trackbacks

  1. Traces of Inspiration » Blog Archive » Roundup of “The Blog is the New Resume” Discussion
  2. The Challenge » Get to know your colleagues - Through blogs
  3. Supples’ Pub » Blog Archive » Huge WTF

Leave a Reply

