Skip to content

Making sense of our dreams

April 20, 2007

We all dream while we sleep.   How many remember all or part of their dreams when they awake?   The memory and impression of my dreams usually pass into nothingness by the time I’ve showered and brushed my teeth most mornings.   The ones that stick with me, usually as only short scenes, are the ones that seem to hold some meaning.

Most often my dreams are anxiety related dreams that are a signal to me that I have unresolved things to look after, perhaps the taxes, that insurance bill, or a big presentation next Tuesday.

Last night, I dreamed that I had some obligation with family and friends to attend, and was driving in my car.  I was supposed to be in route to the appointment, but for some reason I was traveling with this large slice of fluffy cheesecake with whip cream and a cherry.   I wanted to save this desert and knew that it needed to be refrigerated, and that meant a side trip.  My mind was working on where I could take the desert for safe keeping, while I also knew that this side trip was taking me in the opposite direction from where I was supposed to be going.  Next thing I knew, another car had pulled out, and I slammed on the brakes, and then the Cheesecake was all over the driver side floor – it was a mess.  I then felt compelled to get it cleaned and came upon  this hotel resort.  I sneaked through the kitchen and out the back door to find a hose to wash the floor-mat and carpet.  As I went, the kitchen employees were working, walking back and forth and were staring at me.  I realized in the dream that I had no pants, but was wearing a very large knit sweater that I was able to pull down to maintain my decency.  I awoke.

I interpret the dream thusly:  My subconscious mind believes there are things that I should be doing, but that I am distracted and need to focus on priorities, even if it might mean sacrifice – I should have tossed the cake out the window and gone where I was supposed to have gone in the first place.   The lack of clothing is a classic metaphor for insecurity.

Whether or not I have accurately interpreted the meaning of this dream is irrelevant.  The fact that my mind was engaged in considering it is probably enough as I now take stock of what I am doing, and perhaps what I should be doing.  I believe that in our dreams, our mind tries to work out things for us that can’t be freely approached during our regular day.  In pausing to reflect upon the meaning in the morning, we can often extract some new insight and understanding for the day.

What do your dreams tell you?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2007 7:09 pm

    Thanks, always good posts on your blog!

  2. April 23, 2007 12:53 pm

    Thanks for the blogspam there – I’ll be sure not to backtrack to your site.

Leave a Reply

