Skip to content

Happy Birthday!

January 3, 2007

cupcake.gif  I turned 37 today, and I have to say it was easier than turning 28, 29, or 30 when I was preoccupied with where I was going and whether or not I was on track.   At the time, I felt I was falling behind in life.

In my late teens and early 20’s, time seemed to pass so slowly, and there was plenty of time to hang out with friends and just do whatever.   As I get older, there was more and more to do.  We accumulate a lot of baggage as we go through life, some of it emotional, some of it intellectual, some of it physical.   The emotional is clearly the sum of all the things we’ve experienced along the way and how we felt about them.  The Intellectual is all the things we now know to do and not to do, along with all the facts, many that slip away with the years.   Yesterday, I had to google to remember the formula for the area of a triangle (A=1/2bh).   (I was calculating roof area and had a number of triangles and trapazoids to consider – but, I digress)  Physically, we now have to work harder to keep up our strength, skin tone, and general appearance.  I read that we lose, on average, 1/2 lb of muscle a year.    Also, our posessions all require our time and focus – the more we have, the more overhead there is to our lives just keeping it all going.

Keeping up with all this intellectual, emotional, and physical overhead increases the scope of our lives each year, and in so doing, time seems to move faster and faster.

2007 is a new year, and January 3rd makes it officially a new year for me too.   Still no resolutions, but a lot of dreams to chase….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2007 3:27 pm

    Happy Birthday Mark. I’m glad you are here to celebrate the event. You are a good friend and a most interesting person.

    Cheers,

    Jim

  2. January 5, 2007 9:16 pm

    Totally relate to what you said here….the pressure being off yourself is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

