Skip to content

Embedding YouTube Video – Take 1

December 12, 2006

So, a couple a posts ago, I said I wanted to change the template or skin of my blog, and try some new things like posting a video clip.

With the move to the 2 column theme under my belt, let’s try a Youtube video.   My readers know I love heavy equipment, and so I thought this video was appropriate to include.  Wow.  This is certainly NOT an OSHA approved method to unload an excavator.  Not that one should be transporting it on a straight truck anyway.  Clearly, this would be overweight, and overheight here in the US.   Still, my hat is off to the skill and courage of the operator.

As an aside, when I first got my excavator, it was shipped on a regular tractor trailer with dock height flatbed.  This meant that it was about four feet off the ground, and no way down.  I built a dirt ramp with my dozer and pushed dirt up to the back of the truck until you could just drive it off.   The thing was, with my work schedule, and the use of an independent trucker, I had to take a night time delivery.  We unloaded in the dark at about 10:30.  I’d never run the machine before, and had to figure out how to start and operate it and get it off the truck in one piece.  As the tracks were the same width of the truck,  it was mandatory that I get it right the first time, go straight and not fall off the side.  Oh yeah, and the trailer was a rental, so the trucker wanted to be sure I didn’t chew it up.  Needless to say, I was a little anxious as I climbed in the cab with a flashlight and tried to figure out the various levers.  In the end, it went pretty smoothly, and now I feel fairly confident with it, although I don’t think I’m ready for the stunt shown in this video.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2006 5:24 pm

    Wow! That’s pretty amazing. Not having graduated to the excavators of the world, I can only imagine how it would feel to unload that bad boy. The PosiTrack is enough for me!

  2. Garry permalink
    December 12, 2006 9:20 pm

    Skilled at unloading I’d say.

  3. December 13, 2006 9:37 pm

    Wow – hey we gotta try it!

  4. December 14, 2006 8:11 pm

    Do you do contracting on the side Mark? You have a vast knowledge on this.

Leave a Reply

