Skip to content

Blogger’s Anonymous

December 11, 2006

A scene from the not so distant future:   A small room contains about a dozen people, sitting  in folding chairs, nervously fiddling with PDAs,  cell phones or sipping on some coffee from the  gurgling coffee maker at the back of the room.  A small man makes his way to the make shift podium at the front of the room, nervously clears his throat and says, “Hi, my name is Milton and I was a 10 post a day blogger until I found B.A…”

Have you checked yourself for these signs of a blogging addiction?

  1. You check your blog for posted comments while drinking your morning coffee.
  2. You start conversations with people by asking, “Did you catch my post about…?”
  3. You keep a notepad to jot down ideas for your blog as they come to you.
  4. You send links to your blog to family and friends so they can keep up with you.
  5. You get anxious during the day if you can’t post an entry
  6. You become irritable if you can’t come up with a good idea for a post
  7. You use your blog to make your best points about something, and often refer to it during conversation with people.
  8. You use your blog as a day planner
  9. You review all your restaurant and movie going experiences on your blog.
  10. You use your blog as a convenient way to keep the world informed about what music your listening to on your iPod.

If you exhibit one or more of these signs, you may be addicted to blogging.

Humor aside, I wrote this post because in the less than six months that I’ve been blogging, I’ve noticed a change in myself.  I do feel that I make more clear and compelling points while writing.  I feel more collected while posting, and the experience of writing with some level of readership is rewarding and and self affirming.  Since the feelings are positive, we naturally want more, and are then inclined to post more often.  If yourblog frequently features analysis or commentary on breaking news, do you think that blogging has made you more of an “active reader”?   

To all, I ask if you have noticed any changes in yourself since you began a blog, and if so, what are they?

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 14, 2006 8:10 pm

    Mainly, I do not talk on the phone nearly as much. And I do start conversations with “did you see the link/YouTube/post I sent you?”

Leave a Reply

