Skip to content

Houston, we have C.O.

October 3, 2006

A quick post to say we received, C.O. from the county today, and I promptly forwarded on to the bank.  Now if the bank thinks we are 95% done, all is well in my world!

 Yesterday seemed an exercise in futility.  The wheels of bureaucracy would only slowly budge and shudder, and refused to actually turn.  It took a number of calls to find out the issue holding things up, and more calls amongst several parties, and lots of faxing to work toward the solution.  To complicate things, phone lines were temporarily out (..all circuits  are busy, try your call again later), and as 5 pm rolled by yesterday, I couldn’t help but feel like the players at a rained out game.   I was depressed and frustrated, and left with an impression of indifference to the individual.    However, once I looked beyond the overall situation, I foundthat the whole is comprised of individual people who each go above and beyond.  The septic service guy stuck with it, and used his Nextel radio to patch around to the lead county guy who updated the system a little before 6 pm.  The septic company kept trying my number until 9:39 pm when he finally got through to let me know everything was set.  Just a couple quick calls, and a fax this morning, and I was on my way.  That’s customer service!   My impression of an intractable bureaucracy remains, but underneath, my faith that there are still humans who care is restored.  At least for today.

Now to buy some shoes to go with my tux….

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 4, 2006 6:09 am

    Mark, what an awesome accomplishment. I can’t wait to see some pics of the finished house.

    Have a great time at your wedding & congrats!

    Mike

Leave a Reply

