Skip to content

Racing the clock

September 18, 2006

So, I have two countdown clocks running concurrently.  Clock 1 is to complete the house, have a certificate of occupancy allowing me to move in, and be judged 95% complete by my bank so that my construction note will roll to my 30 year fixed mortgage.  Clock 2 is a countdown to getting married in Jamaica on Oct 7th.

The house has become an all consumptive project, filling my 16 hour days and haunting my few hours of sleep at night.   I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, but there remains a lot of frantic work by myself, my fiance’, a handful of loyal friends, and a jumble of subcontractors.  Aside from the physical pain, I’m numb, and bereft of perspective.

I’m excited about the upcoming wedding, the arrangements have been made, but it just has not yet fully set in.  I’m sure that by the time I’m in the airport with our families, awaiting our flight, the reality will set in. 

We are also so ready to get out of construction mode, and get refocused on careers, family, and just living life again.  We’ve spent far too much time commuting, and living out of restaurants.  The Chinese take out place across from my apartment starts cooking when they see me walking across the parking lot – a sure sign I’ve gotten food there too often.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

