Skip to content

I love the smell of diesel in the morning….

July 25, 2006

My tag line says that this blog is about the trappings of my life – the things that I am doing at any point in time which I identify with, and which I believe reflect my image of self.   The banner picture at the top is my house under construction, and I was idealistic enough to have signed myself up not only as the General Contractor, but also for some of the subcontractor roles.  I’m entering the last 45 days of the project and have to pack about 3 months worth of work into it through the help of family and close friends. 

mvc-003s.JPG

Aside from all the sweat and a little blood from time to time, I really have enjoyed this project.  One of the more emotionally gratifying portions of the project has been getting to drive heavy equipment.  It’s said that a difference between men and boys is the size and price of the toys.  This loader has been my favorite.  The jet engine sound of the turbo charger over the deep diesel rumble and squeaking of the tracks makes for an extremely visceral experience.  Riding this around is a real feeling of temporary personal empowerment – a force against which dirt, rock, and tree must yield. 

For those with working roles in large companies, or in large organizations, the feeling of accomplishment at the end of each day may be elusive.  I’ve found these ‘hands on’ activities to be very therapeutic for me personally, as the results are immediately evident.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2008 2:03 pm

    Genuine!

  2. March 27, 2010 9:11 am

    Well I like the smell of petrol sometimes 😉

Leave a Reply

