Skip to content

My first android

September 6, 2011

I’ve just started to use Lenovo’s new K1 tablet – and have had it for about a week or so.  Since I work there, my decision to go with this device was partly in consideration for investing in my future and not somebody else’s, but also to better understand the experiences of the customers that I talk to in our community every day.

Over the weekend, there was an update released which addressed a few minor bugs that inherently occur in any hardware / software product.   Customers were sharing feedback about a few bumps they encountered during the install and I observed that when I told them that A) I had one of these too,  B) Was by no means an “expert” on the product, and C) experienced a few of the same bumps they did and promised to share that with those involved in the release, the tone of the conversation changed.

I was suddenly human, not just an employee.  I had just walked in their shoes.    This was a moment where I could clearly see the difference in talking to someone vs talking with them.

So far, I really like the product and know I have a lot to learn about Apps and that whole ecosystem.  My phone is woefully in need of an update – it can text, and could connect to the web under certain circumstances but hardly resembles anything we would now call “smart”.   Once I’m savvy on this tablet, I’ll look into the expense of a phone and think that having one that can act as a portable wifi hotspot will be a key feature on my shopping list.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2011 2:20 pm

    Hi Mark

    Glad to see that you are back to blogging again ;) , and the K1 must be a cool thing to use!

  2. September 8, 2011 2:57 am

    Ha! Soon you’ll be like Cleo and me with your phone glued to your hand! ;-)

  3. Don Gott permalink
    February 14, 2012 5:18 am

    Actually, you’ve been largely ignoring Android customers. Where’s the source? Where are the fixes for serious bugs in the A1/K1 identified in the Lenovo forums? In the @lenovoforums feed, out of 64, those you follow involved with Android number exactly one.

  4. February 14, 2012 12:40 pm

    Really interesting post, showing the difference between being a representative for a company and actually using their products as a simple user.

    @Don Gott: Please keep in mind that as far as I know Mark is only helping towards transferring our comments/complaints and feedback in general to the corresponding department, so he is not solely responsible for the bad attitude of Lenovo towards its customers.

    Btw, I am also one of the many who are expecting the source code for the Lenovo A1. Since Lenovo ignores the obvious issues of the current firmware, they should at least provide us with the opportunity to see some properly working custom ROMS… apart from that, the device (A1) is really interesting regarding its hardware specs and it is a pity to be wasted by this error-prone offical ROM.

    • February 20, 2012 3:38 am

      Don,

      I appreciate your ire…

      As to the source code – I posted two links this week for ThinkPad and IdeaPad K1 and I hope to be able to put up the A1 later next week. Stay tuned.

      Vassilis,

      Thanks. The tablets have surprised me a bit in several ways. First, the user base is moving a lot faster than laptops / desktops in terms of expectations. Second, I expected utility / appliance like reliability – and in some ways it is that. Turning off / rebooting cures many woes, and yet other than uninstalling / reinstalling an app or waiting on the next code update, there isn’t so much that can be done to debug as you can in Windows, at least apart from the developer community. Supporting conventional notebook / desktop, there are BIOS, drivers that can be updated, or rolled back, registry bits that can be fiddled with, etc. The simplicity of the tablet seems a two edge sword from the support perspective.

      Thank you both for your thoughts.

      Mark

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

